The Insomnia Diaries

Insomnia is unavoidable. If it happens regularly, certainly you should see a doctor, but on those nights when I only seem to get four hours of sleep, I decide that it’s better to be tired and alive then to sleep all night and wake up dead. (Yeah, I know, just stay with me.)

One of the many things that has kept me awake today is the revelation that my Fiverr account actually made me some real money. Not real in the sense that I can tell my employers and bill collectors to go fuck themselves, but real in that way that makes you feel extra special when you find a twenty dollar bill in your pockets while doing the laundry. The possibilities are open now.

Fiverr is a site that allows you to advertise simple services for the low price of five dollars. You can advertise on your blog for someone, make a video of yourself wearing a shirt while riding a unicycle in public, or any other thing you can think of that people will gladly pay five dollars for. Three years ago, I was homeless and my only real talent that I didn’t have to fill out an application for was reading tarot cards.

So, I landed a couple readings and last night, I got to thinking that I could use Fiverr to promote my comedy somehow. I logged onto my account for the first time in a while and was surprised to find twenty dollars to my name. Unlike websites like Freecycle, however, that money wasn’t tied to the site. I was able to move it to my Paypal account where I tested the validity of the money by buying some points for a game on Facebook.

I still have some of that money left in the Paypal account and it occurred to me that I can still do my three card tarot readings for money. It’s not going to make me rich, because I actually believe in my readings and I would not stoop so low as to fleece someone. But five dollars adds up and it could be a good source of supplemental income over the next year or so.

This by the way, was not a plug. I’m not showing you the “gigs” I’ve advertised on Fiverr nor am I advertising my readings to anyone who has been kind enough to like and follow me, because that is not what I intend for this blog. I am, however, telling you about the thing that has kept me awake suddenly as I anxiously wonder if the readings will come in this year as quickly as they did during my year in the wild.

One thought on “The Insomnia Diaries

Leave a Reply

