World War B Has Been Stayed

The exterminator didn’t find any in my unit, but he was still supposed to spray to be on the safe side. That’s what I was lead to believe, which is why my place looks more like someone’s storage unit than my apartment. The actual spraying will commence next week. But since I don’t have any actual bugs to worry about, I’m taking out the bedding so that my bed isn’t an eyesore.

Needless to say, this morning was stressful so I treated myself to breakfast at the Red Line Café. The Ham and Cheese crepe was worth it and every time I go to this place, I find something new I like about it. The staff are friendly and the food is amazing. I have no reason to not smile when I go there. The café has only been on Essex Street in Salem for almost a year, but man, it’s earning it’s keep on what is essentially Salem’s Boulevard Of Broken Dreams.

What really struck me the most was the amount of coffee flavoring they use. A lot of places offer flavor shots but they’re usually these dinky little drops of flavoring that I don’t notice until the last bitter, sugar sweetened cup. I ordered a pepper mint flavor shot in my coffee at the Red Line (which is only an additional 50 cents) and when I sipped it… wow. I did not need to use a single grain of sugar and I wouldn’t have even needed the milk. Usually I only add milk to coffee when I need to drink it in a very short amount of time and I need it to be a teensy bit cooler. But if I had an hour or so to kill, I would have taken my time with this cup and probably ordered another one just to make the day even sweeter.

I am trying to cut back on sugar but I do like my coffee with some kind of sweetness. So safe alternatives I have gone with are cinnamon sugar and hot chocolate with almond milk, which definitely takes the edge off the coffee without killing the buzz. I don’t know what’s in the coffee liqueur they use or what’s in the stuff in general, but if that helps ease the transition from barely awake to functioning member of society in a healthier way than sugar then  can see myself investing in it pretty quickly.

3 thoughts on “World War B Has Been Stayed

  1. Pingback: Fruit and Veggie Run and a Subtle Gift to my Mother | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

  2. Pingback: World War B Has Reached My Shores | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

  3. Pingback: A Phoenix Doesn’t Always Rise | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

Leave a Reply

