If Laughter is the best Medicine, Then I want to be a Drug Dealer

Tonight is going to be a big day for me, because this is one of the many times in my life when I try to step out of my comfort zone in order to make something happen as opposed to simply waiting for someone else to make it happen to me.

A few weeks ago, I filled out the application for a performer’s license. The main goal is to tell jokes on the street in the hopes that people will throw money to me or at me, depending on the mood. The only difference between this and an open mic really is that at least I’ll only have to pay for the license. There is a caveat though. Tonight at 6 PM, there is a meeting with the people in charge of who gets the performers license and comedy is one of those things that is hard enough to get across because it is so subjective. No matter how well you’ve crafted your jokes or what rules of the stage you play by, at the end of the day, it’s up to your audience to laugh and to find you funny.

I don’t know if I’ll have to perform for two minutes to demonstrate what I plan to do or not. Or if I just have to give my plan and maybe that will be enough. What I don’t need is advice about how to perform the comedy, as that comes to me whether I want it or not. When I tell people I perform comedy and that I’m just starting out, it’s as if I’m suddenly surrounded by Michael McIntyres telling me the kinds of jokes I should tell and what have you. It’s annoying and I’d appreciate it if most people would just give me the benefit of the doubt and assume I know what I’m doing.

The only people I have to impress tonight is whoever will be at that meeting. Just throw me some positive vibes.

Leave a Reply

