In Good Company

The truth is an entire eight hour shift can generate a month’s worth of content. And I don’t care how rigid your schedule is, no one’s day is coherent enough that someone would have the level of commitment required to read something that accurately details every second of a twenty-four hour period in your life.

One of the reasons I mention this is that there is a mentality that I believe comes from a culture of television, movies and books. We all sit there and watch the characters on the screen and have our moments of, “I would totally have done this.” “Why didn’t she just go through that door?” “Why didn’t Leonardo Dicaprio play the tapes for Alec Baldwin so they could all arrest Matt Damon without anyone getting shot, then they could have exposed the whole web of intrigue and deception that was infecting the Boston PD.?”

We all want to believe that we have the answer just kind of tucked away in there somewhere and we just need the situation to present itself to prove we’re right. But reality just doesn’t work that way.

When I tell you a story about something that happened at work, or when I relate an experience that happened in my life, it’s easy for you to chime in and tell me how I was wrong to handle the situation the way I did. But all you have heard is the story as I chose to tell it and the details I have chosen to present. You didn’t factor in any of the other things going on at that time, or what the other players in the act could have done differently, or the fact that maybe I have experienced this often enough that I actually do know that what I did was the right thing to do.

Cops, doctors and people in professions that are highly dramatized in works of fiction can sympathize with that sort of arm chair quarterbacking.

I can’t change the world. I can only show you my view of it and hope that readers realize that they are not the omniscient flies on the wall.

Leave a Reply

