The Smallest Part in a School Play, Another post inspired by Josh Widdicombe

Going through Josh Widdicombe’s archives, the topic of conversation for one of his podcasts was “What is the smallest part you had in a play?”

With Christmas  (Or as Lewis Black and half a million people who think they were the first to hear Lewis Black would say, “Christmas Eve Parts 1 and 2”) just around the corner, I wanted to reach far back to my time in Johnson Elementary School, when I was in the first grade.

Current residents of North Adams, Massachusetts may recall when Johnson was an actual school. Now I believe it is primarily a Headstart/preschool building. Feel free to chime in if I’m wrong.

Also, I do believe this was Mrs. Gilman’s first grade, but it could also have been Mrs. Sarkis’ (sp?) second grade. Also, the other classes of the same grade were involved in this project, so that explains the numbers I refer to that would rival the casting calls on a 90’s Roland Emmerich film. So if any alumni or staff who recall this event know for certain which grade we were in when we did this play, first off, hello. It’s great to hear from you and to know you’re still out there. Secondly, chime in if you were close to the project.

There were two holiday plays that our class put on. The one that this story is relevant to involved Santa Claus running for president. Matthew St. Pierre played Santa and the kids who were not “elves and reporters”, or Mrs. Claus were “foreign kids” pleading for Santa not to become the president of the United States.

I was the “British” boy and my girl counterpart and I were the first in the long line of children. This would make it my first “speaking part” in a production. I may be wrong about certain details, but I do remember our sole line word for word.

“We represent the children from far across the sea. If you become president, where will our children be?”

Leave a Reply

