Way Down in Watertown

Early this morning, I had to go to Watertown to fill out some paperwork. There is a woman who volunteers her time at the Asperger/Autism Network of New England to help people apply for social security. She will be referred to as Gabrielle in honor of the fact that Anne Rice was in Boston today and while I did not get to meet my favorite author, I also do not consider it an entirely wasted afternoon. I had to make an appointment with Gabrielle on the pop fly, which was made all the more easy because of the good fortune I found just the other day and so the cost was reduced somewhat.

There’s no getting around the fact that I have been having a lot of difficulty with handling certain aspects of the workplace lately. That doesn’t discount everything I’ve done in the last ten years and it doesn’t negate any of the observations I’ve written about up until now, or will write about hereafter. Like I said before, maybe I do have problems, but that doesn’t excuse six billion other people.

With that out of the way, Gabrielle was very understanding about my situation. She walked me through the application process and when it came time to fill in the paragraph about why I should be accepted for SSI benefits, she took over translating my situation into something that would fit into the limited space the website gave us.

At first I was reluctant to explain what happened at SaberSave. She insisted that she couldn’t help me if I wasn’t honest, so understand that in the context of trying to form a working relationship with these people, I was very humble as I explained the events to her. To my complete and pleasant surprise, she laughed when it sank in. And I felt comfortable admitting that while it wasn’t the most civilized course of action, I also did not regret the action. But it fits pretty well with my history of how I act when backed into a corner and coupled with the paperwork I presented to her of an incident back in 2010, which landed me on a three day watch at the hospital, I think she helped me write a pretty good “sob story”.

Of course she pointed out that in all likelihood the claim would be denied. She had seen far worse cases than mine get denied, but that usually the appeal is what gets approved. When that happens, she has contacts with people who can provide me legal aid to take the next step.

Now that you’ve sat through this, here’s the bonus video detailing an example of the stupidity that I observed in the world, on my way back home.

All Aboard The Stupid Train

One thought on “Way Down in Watertown

  1. Crystal

    This is not meant to discourage you in any way; it’s more of a warning so you WON’T get discouraged. When I filed for SSI, it took three our four tries to get it approved. I had a lawyer help me with the process and explain that it’s pretty much procedure. So it was the initial paperwork, two or three appeals, and then a trial where I got to explain what my problems were while two other people I hadn’t met before basically vouched at deaf and hard of hearing individuals don’t get jobs in this state very easy. So don’t be discouraged if it takes more than just one appeal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

