Recovering From the Dark Place That is Consuming my Soul

The bottom line is this. Yes, I have bills to pay. But I’m not going to get those bills paid any quicker if I get so sick to my stomach from working in a place where I am not appreciated and more to the point, bullied to the point of feeling backed into a corner and forced to fight back.

This bell ringing job is seasonal only and the only way it pays off in the long run is if I work over forty hours every week. We’ll see how things pan out, but even after two days, I feel a hundred times more fulfilled than I did anytime over the last ten years or so.

Yesterday, I made a positive impression on a little kid who was visiting America for the first time with his family. The generous donors and the fact that I’m working for a place that is pretty much universally loved and respected for their actions is giving me that emotional boost that I need to recover from the dark spot I’ve been in.

For that reason, I am making a conscientious decision to not pursue any other job until after this seasonal job as a bell ringer is over. My mental health is just as important as my financial situation, if not more so, because I can’t pay rent in a mental hospital. I need to end this year on a positive note and begin the next year even more so.

People have their opinions of course. Feel free to tell me how wrong I am. You’re just going to waste your time and more to the point, you will be showing your true colors as someone who does not belong in my life.

2 thoughts on “Recovering From the Dark Place That is Consuming my Soul

  1. Pingback: My true #RedKettleReason | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

Leave a Reply

