An Open Mic on the Last Consecutively Numbered Date of the Year… Oooweeeoooh

It didn’t even occur to me that yesterday was 12/13/14, that’s how much I have going on in my life right now. Dates and years really don’t mean anything to me anymore as much as the stuff I’m doing on those days should matter. Still it cannot be understated the fact that it is also the day that a generous donor dropped a hundred dollar bill into my kettle, so it was a fairly balanced day.

Yesterday’s open mic was a lesson in comparison. What did I do yesterday that was different from last week, other than celebrating the anniversary of my birth? Last week confirmed for me that I am capable of writing comedy that connects with an audience that is 90% comedians, so how do I continue with that. So this week I will be taking a close look at both videos and feel free to chime in with your own thoughts and opinions that actually come from experience and not just the voices in your head.

There is one guy in the crowd that I may have written about before. I’m lousy with names, so I’ll call him Mark, because when you see a man and he’s laughing alone you might just take him for an easy Mark.

Mark was at one of my first open mikes and if you’ve followed my blog at all, or know me personally, you should at least know that I am as critical of myself as I am of others. Because the open mic was in Charlestown and it was my first real solo outing since graduating from Amy Tee’s comedy course. The Charlestown crowd is tough, to say the least, but I tested a bunch of new material, some of which I used in my birthday open mic and there was only one guy really laughing. Mark.

So genius that I am, I tried to do my first attempt at crowd working and since Mark was the only one laughing I said something that I thought was complimentary, but from his reaction, clearly was a misfire. I actually didn’t go back to that open mic for almost two months because I was so ashamed of burning the only guy in the room that was making my five minutes worthwhile.

Mark regularly performs at Fran’s and it’s kind of easy to dismiss him as being the sort to laugh at everything. But there clearly moments in my set when he did not laugh. So he obviously only laughs at what he finds funny and that is awesome. I still haven’t apologized to him for that night in February and it’s possible I’m the only one who remembers. Still, my Everest is confronting and confessing my early open mic sin.

Below is the link to the new open mike. Please keep in mind that no one was holding the camera this time, so I worked with what I had.

12/13/14 at Fran’s Place in Lynn.

Leave a Reply

