The Blood Runs on Dunkin

Five years ago, when I went to donate blood to the Red Cross, they rejected me because I was living in a homeless shelter. Their reasons were superfluous and I won’t get into them here, but suffice it to say this is not the first time I have had issues with the Red Cross.

So when they were holding a blood drive again at the exact same hotel, I went in. Now that I was a solid citizen, I figured I’d bleed in a bag for a relatively good cause, even though recent accusations have come to light about how high the price tag for that blood would be should someone be so unfortunate.


Here’s the article of the very first time I donated blood.
Admittedly, I was the ill advised party in this instance and at that moment, I was proud enough to be doing this small thing to serve my country.

This time, however, fate handed the perfect opportunity to stick it to the man so to speak, when I went to register to donate blood. They were offering five dollar gift cards for Dunkin Donuts, which I readily took after I handed over my ID and information.

Unfortunately for them, I now sit here with my ice coffee and a whole pint of blood running through my veins.

Leave a Reply

