A Staggering Week Beginning with Tarotfest

Tarotfest began this Sunday. Originally, I waffled about whether or not I wanted to go. The sign said to bring your favorite tarot deck, a book and a snack to share. All I could find was a snack to share.

Seven years ago, I had made some moderate success with reading tarot cards on Church Street in Burlington, Vermont. This was incredibly moderate as I was not allowed to out right charge for my services, but as per the rules of the Church Street Marketplace from whence I received my performer’s license, I could keep a bucket on the side for donations. Because there was no actual product to sell, this was the only way could expect compensation for my efforts.

Sometimes I could pay rent or utilities, other times I could do a load of laundry. At that point, you had better believe that I believed in and found some enjoyment in what I was doing, because it sure as hell wasn’t paying enough to get out of my servitude to Rite Aid.

Once upon a time if you were to walk down Church Street, you could see my large easel holding the sign “The Tarot Club” with me sitting in a metal folding chair reading a book. I was always looking up and smiling, and greeting people politely in the hopes that they would take a seat.

After about a year of this, I finally decided that if I wanted to make a career out of this, I needed to get away from Burlington and go to what is basically Hollywood for psychics. With so many people journeying to Salem every year for the psychic fair, all I needed to do was dip my ladle into the soup and I would be set. Or so I thought.

I’ve told this story so often and for so long that I don’t want to go any further down memory lane. But suffice it to say that at long last, I thought I had put tarot reading behind me for good. So much so that I was convinced that I had left my tarot decks on Bridge Street.

Not so, evidently, but that’s a story for another post. Suffice it to say, Omen was hosting a monthly get together for people who have an interest in the tarot and if for no other reason than to continue this positive streak of trying to be a productive member of the community, I grabbed a bag of Goldfish and went.

More on this later as I intend to stagger the subjects of both fests over the course of the week.

3 thoughts on “A Staggering Week Beginning with Tarotfest

  1. Pingback: Red Eye to Salem | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

  2. Pingback: A #ThrowbackThursday Post with a Twist | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

  3. Pingback: For The Last Time, that Boat has Sailed | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

Leave a Reply

