Cause You Want to Take My Picture

The other day I was sitting by the fountain near the Village Tavern. As I was about to start enjoying my lunch, a tourist asked me to take her picture.

However bad my day might be, or however much of a loner I claim to be, I never balk at the chance to make a tourist’s visit to Salem a pleasant one. If it’s the simple act of giving directions or the slightly more intimate act of taking someone’s picture, I will do everything within the limits of my extremely limited capability to make it happen.

The lady gave me her camera and when I was sure my food and belongings were secure on the bench, I stood up to take her photo by the fountain.

Well it must have been a slow day at the Village Tavern, because an employee from the restaurant approached us.

“Do you want me to take your picture?” He asked.

Confused, I replied, “I’m sorry?”

“Your picture. I can take a picture of the two of you together if you want.”

I exchanged an awkward glance with the lady. She was probably about my age and from her accent I guessed she was not from my side of the Pond, but as I was the local, it was up to me to clear up the confusion.

“We’re not together,” I said. “But I appreciate the gesture.”

Picture taken, awkwardness averted. For the record, I thank the employee of the Village Tavern, though I don’t know his name. Because to quote Jed Clampet, “I reckon you done what you done because you didn’t know we was who we was. And if we hadn’t been who we was, we’d still be much obliged for you to have done what you done.”

One thought on “Cause You Want to Take My Picture

Leave a Reply

