A Letter To John (Because titling this “Dear John” might give someone the wrong idea)

Today is the birthday of a friend whom I have always held in very high regard. His birthday wish is that we take the time to acknowledge our loved ones and this year, that loved one is you. So here is the piece of writing that I have been preparing for this day. (Okay, it took me less than twelve hours to come up with it, but I’m proud of it and I hope you are too)

You came into my life when I was alone. You lifted me up when I was down. In different ways,  at different times, the right words have escaped us, which made us angry, or annoyed with each other. But the feelings always remained the same.

I hope that I can one day give to you as well as you have given to me, so that when words fail me, I can at least show you, as you have shown me, that love is all that matters.

Ten thousand years from now, what we have said, whether we were happy or not, is not going to matter as much as how we are seen when the archaeologists find us.

I love you John.

And in the spirit that this was written, happy birthday to Ned.

One thought on “A Letter To John (Because titling this “Dear John” might give someone the wrong idea)

Leave a Reply

