A Bit of Frustration

When people take it upon themselves to offer help, I just wish they would take the time to think long and hard about whether or not they know for a fact that it is the kind of help I need, or want.

There’s a mentality that I should be willing to accept anyone’s help as long as they’re willing to offer it free of charge. In some cases that is true. However here is an example of a time when the logic fails.

Lets say I have washed up on a beach after having drowned. Someone approaches me and does not know CPR, but they do know how to make a top notch splint out of scraps of wood. So they fit my leg with a splint, but I’m still suffering from a lack of oxygen to the brain.

Well, that person had the best of intentions. But instead of admitting they didn’t know CPR and trying to find someone who absolutely did know such, they just went ahead with the only help they were capable of giving and now they’re surprised when I am not responding to that help, because what I needed was to get the water out of my lungs so I could start breathing.

At the same time, it’s not entirely the good Samaritan’s fault. I was the one who went into the water, knowing I couldn’t swim and not even wearing a life preserver. So no, I can’t get angry with the person who only wanted to help me. But at the same time, they were not in a position to improve my situation with their actions and perhaps it would have been better if they had just done nothing, so that the only person I have to blame is definitely myself.

One thought on “A Bit of Frustration

Leave a Reply

