A Copy Of My Confidence

I found another potential copy editor to look at my story, so I came all the way out to Danvers so I could save some money on the physical copy that this person wants to read. If nothing else, it’s nice to see what it looks like in my hands.

There’s no shortage of people throwing in their two cents, mind you. I was told by an Internet “expert” that I need to put 10,000 hours of effort into something to get it right, which I find ironic because I doubt she took 10,000 hours to become an expert on how many hours it takes to become an expert.

I think there’s just a fine like between opinion and expert advice. Pat Elrond, for example, has a very passionate view about reading 100 short stories for every single one you intend to write. If that is not an unholy joy, don’t even try to write a short story. It might see contrite and pretentious, but she had a fairly successful career as the writer of a vampire series and she still makes her living as a writer and editor today.

People are always going to have opinions. God knows I have them. At the end of the day, how the opinion effects me is all that’s going to matter. Personally, I’ll stick with the advice of the person who makes a living in the business to which I am applying myself.

Leave a Reply

