Less Than 5,000

Sunday was as good a day as any to put the frustration of the previous week behind me. John needed help setting up his table at an antiques show in New Hampshire, so my plan was to put my own struggles on hold and focus on doing whatever I could to make the day easier for John.

There was a minor problem that you could accurately describe as a small brushfire, but I stood my ground and doused it with my resolution not to let anything distract me from the fact that I was here to help John.

The antiques show was held in one of the gymnasiums of the Hampshire Hills health club and although it was still warm inside, the open doors and the wide space made for a better airflow. I spent all of my time on my feet because I had not gotten much sleep the night before and I knew that if I sat down, I’d be fast asleep. A quick walk around took care of any lethargy and it gave me a chance to see what the other vendors brought.

One of the things that stands out to me is the abundance of stereoscopes present at the show. I remember thinking that the stereoscope was a rare item and it was an item on my wish list to get to use what was basically the Gameboy of the 19th century. Now I can’t seem to go two steps without tripping on them. Although I did run into one woman who had a number of the slides and among them was a series of photos that I can only describe as “adult” in nature. It made sense to me since there are certainly video games and movies now a days that aren’t meant for children and it stands to reason that the companies that manufactured stereoscope slides would print similar materials.

At the table next to me was a gentleman who actually serviced and sold early phonographs. He even had a couple of the Cylinders that he was kind enough to play for potential customers and since I was sitting beside him, I was beside myself with the idea that some of that music, some of which contained genuine vocal artists, could very well have been recorded by Edison himself.

We sold a few things. One of the other vendors had told the organizer that he made “less than 5,000” at his table and I thought, technically we all did. So if anyone asks me how much money we made at the antiques show, or indeed any future sales related venture that I participate in, my answer is always going to be less than 5,000.

Leave a Reply

