What Have I Been Doing With Myself, You Ask?

Credit to Dora Gonzalez at Premade4U for creating this cover.

Credit to Dora Gonzalez at Premade4U for creating this cover.

It’s been awhile since my last update. What could I have been doing with myself, you ask? Well, I believe I mentioned working on my novella recently, and I’m happy to say that is currently on Smashwords.com waiting to be approved for premium catalogue status.

Should it be approved, it will be available in all formats for electronic devices through websites like Barnes n Noble and Amazon, as well as to local libraries.

In the meantime, today was a day I awaited nervously. At this time, I don’t know when they’ll get around to looking at my book. I just have to hope I followed the Smashwords formatting guide as closely as I thought I did, because that’s going to be the major kicker in determining the best way to market this.

It wasn’t just the Smashwords people though. Because the main character of the book was based on two people who I greatly admire. But because I was writing about something that I admittedly know very little about, and these are men who are seasoned professionals at what they do, I was nervous. I didn’t want to tell them about the story, because what if they were offended by the portrayal? That would be their right and it wouldn’t be appropriate of me to try and pigeonhole their approval by creating the expectation that I wanted nothing but praise.

The truth is, I can take criticism and I am open to it in all of it’s forms. I don’t always appreciate the way it comes across and I will say so, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to know if people have opinions on something I did.

My best friend, Crystal, was the first to download my book. She has always been one of my strongest readers and whatever is going on in her life, she is always consistent with her response and support. She was not afraid to tell me when something looked out of left field and I was happy for that. (Is it any wonder I wanted to thank her in the acknowledgments. Well now she’s not getting out of it in the acknowledgments for the next book of the series, no matter what anyone says. Except for her, obviously, but I really hope she agrees to let me thank her in this way.)

But even more satisfying than the first sale was the positive response from Mark Bedell and Ned Donovan, the two people who were more than 90% influential in creating the character of Nicodemus Dean.

If I never sell another copy of the book, if nothing I write from here on out ever impresses anyone, that will in no way cheapen the weight that these three people have lifted from my heart today.

3 thoughts on “What Have I Been Doing With Myself, You Ask?

  1. Pingback: A Funny Thing Happened Logging on to the Forum (3) | Confessions of a Cart Jockey

Leave a Reply

