The Failure of Humanity that is Peeple… makes me proud of the People

For those of you who are not aware of Peeple was an app that was reportedly like a much more personal version of Yelp. Like Yelp, you could use the Peeple App to rate actual individuals, and share all of the scathing details about the people you don’t like. Or as I like to call it: Bullying: The App.

I’m giving the people behind this idea the benefit of the doubt. Though there is some speculation as to whether or not this wasn’t some big hoax just to stir the melting pot, if such an App really was going to be a reality, I doubt there was any malicious intent behind it. That’s all I’m going to say on that.

What I will elaborate on is my sudden increase in faith for the whole of humanity. The vast majority of the Internet community seems completely against this idea. Page after page of Twitter feed lambasted the app from the moment it was announced, and suddenly, it was as if the world was united in it’s hatred of what would certainly become a tool for bullies to target individuals online.

So this may be the first time in my entire life when a failure of humanity has actually made me proud… of humanity.

Leave a Reply

