All Hail the Over Thinkers

Here is the first crossover post between Confessions and the Author’s Blog.

People accuse me of overthinking. I say accuse, because it never comes in the form of a compliment. Usually, it’s followed by a litany of the things I did, presented to me in a way that I assume is meant to shame me back into my corner to think about what I have done. Unfortunately, because I’m no longer ten years old, I am immune to such shunning, and instead it provides me some small amusement to listen to the preaching of the ignorant.

Here’s an example of such shaming from an earlier post:

FWIW I don’t see your coworker as giving “opposite” directions, just an alternate path. Maybe she perceives it as shorter or for some reason has a preference. Did you ask her why she would go around the back of the store instead of the front?

You *are* over thinking things, and to go to the extent of masking a video to “prove” you are right…
Save yourself some stress and learn to filter out the small stuff.

You could easily argue that this commenter had the best of intentions. But that intention goes right out the window when she/he/it feels the need tell me how to think. As if an anonymous poster has some mystical homespun set of wisdom that is far more powerful than the coworker I had made the subject of my commentary.

Yet, my blog for all of it’s faults, both real and imagined, has readers. It’s got to be doing something right to have a fairly consistent stream of traffic regardless of how infrequent my posts. I have to believe that some of my readers, most of my readers, recognize that there are some situations where my observations were not only dead on, but informative and educational.

So what does this have to do with getting to meet Dacre Stoker? Well, here is a guy who is not only the living descendant of Bram Stoker, but has spent much of his life tracking down chronicling the life story of one of the literary giants of the 19th century. He is a school teacher and a self-proclaimed academic, and a lot of the theories he presented to us at the Ames Theater in Salem, Massachusetts had no basis more reliable than the actual research that was available.

In other words, some might accuse Dacre of overthinking things. But really, he’s just taking what’s there, applying his knowledge and experience, and presenting a plausible scenario. And sure as the sun will set, I bet there are people who have listened to or read his theories, and have also accused him of overthinking details which the accuser would have no reason to find significant.

Bram Stoker himself was an “over thinker” who applied so much of his research and experience to his own writing career. He was so good at doing his bread-and-butter job that he actually wrote and published the manual that remained in use until the 1960’s. The men and women he rubbed shoulders with were also “over thinkers”. Sir Henry Irving, “over thought” the way actors should behave, Mark Twain “over thought” human decency, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle over thought the hell out of a lot of things.

So accuse me of over thinking things if it pleases you to do so. Just know that all you will succeed in doing is securing my membership into an already pretty popular club of over thinkers.

Leave a Reply

