Better Than My Enemy

Over the next few months, I will hear things that bother me; in articles in the paper, discussions in the news, and conversations in public. My urge to throttle some people will be strong, but I will not act on that urge to condemn or to harm someone because of their personal beliefs.

When I was living Burlington, I had coworkers who were of the Muslim faith, or came from the Middle East. One of those coworkers worked at the same airport job, no less. The biggest threat either of them ever posed to me was when they would hog the employee microwave when I was trying to get some food into my system during my precious thirty to forty-five minute lunch break. Why am I making a joke about this? Because in the coming months, we are going to need to have a sense of humor. When and where it is appropriate will always be a matter of personal taste, but history has shown that those of us who can still find a reason to laugh are the ones who have the strongest grasp of the seriousness of the situation.

I will go on record as saying that I feel a great sense of sadness for those who still choose to pray in the direction of the East, because I know that while they don’t all share the extremist views of our Enemy, they will still be condemned by their equally extremist neighbors.

But I ask readers to consider this: Our Enemy is making war on our way of life, our belief system, and whatever it is that their own personal beliefs seem to justify making war on. If we make war against the entirety of the Muslim faith, as they make war against the entirety of the Christian faith, we are lowering ourselves to the mentality of our Enemy.

Make no mistake, this is a war. Our retribution should be with the mentality of punishing a group of terrorists for committing an act of war. If my Enemy attacks me and mine, I will do what is within my power to protect myself from that Enemy. But I will not attack the Enemy simply for his beliefs, because that is what will make me better.

Leave a Reply

