My Thoughts Go Out to Chennai, India

There has been a lot of media coverage of the flooding in Chennai. In this difficult time, when people are being gunned down in the streets by mad criminals (whatever their reason may be) I always want to keep in mind that suffering comes in all forms. And there are few things more humbling than when the forces of nature wipes away all that was important to you.

I’ve been fortunate that the natural disasters that have occurred near me have been minor. But I’ve also cringed in fear as I listened to reports of tornadoes in the vicinity of my loved ones. I watched a video of what happened to one friends’ house and I was glad that he had survived, but also grateful that it hadn’t happened to one of my brothers who were living not that far away.

So in that way, I am grateful to know there were people who have survived the flood, and hope that they will not have to struggle for long.

A small part of the reason I feel emotionally invested is that I have been getting a lot of blog traffic from India, of late. Mostly, they’ve been reading the one post about Sperm Donor Appreciation Day, but I appreciate all of my readers, whichever of my writings they choose to take a look at.

I’m not in much of a position to donate money, or offer something more substantial than words and prayers. But hopefully, raising awareness will inspire others to do what I cannot.

Leave a Reply

