What’s Different About this Year

Last year, for my birthday, I did the comedy open mic at Fran’s. Some will argue that it wasn’t my best set, and to them I say, screw off.

It’s not to say that I don’t want feedback, but at the end of the day, I wasn’t really doing this for a living anyway. It would have been nice if it had turned out that way, but in the end, I just don’t think I’m cut out to get the big laughs.

If I do an open mic, it’s for me to have fun doing, and if I post it on Youtube, it is only within the spirit of sharing something that matters to me. People are free to like it or dislike it, but I truly don’t care one way or the other.

This year, however, with the exception of two books published, I just feel like I don’t have much to show for 2015. It feels like my birthday is the time to turn in the book report that I was assigned way back in January, and now I’m only barely finishing the first draft.

As to how this year has went, it’s been a mixed bag. All of my love goes out to my family and my friends, especially my parents, my siblings, the nephews and nieces, and John. I don’t want them to think I don’t appreciate them and what they bring into my life, but I want them to know that they are in my thoughts always and not just on this day of the year.

If I had one really solid wish, it would be an increase in book sales. Failing that, I think if I had one good opportunity to get my name out there and have it work out in my favor, that would be even better.

One thought on “What’s Different About this Year

Leave a Reply

