An Apology To Bear Grylls

Today’s posts begin with, appropriately enough, a confession.

For the last couple of months, Bear Grylls has been promoting the December 17th episode of Running Wild with Bear Grylls, featuring President Barack Obama.

In typical Internet fashion, every time he made a post on Facebook, the comments section was filled with comments that were vitriolic, mean-spirited, and at times terrifying. Unfortunately, when I attempt to champion a cause that I believe in, I have a tenancy of doing more harm than good. So when I could no longer tolerate the ignorance, I began adding fuel to a fire that was already raging without my help.

One of Bear’s main attitudes is that you need to weather the negative feelings of others by remaining positive and optimistic in the face of adversity. And considering the man is on first name basis with Adversity, my actions on his Facebook page could only be described as disrespectful. I was not taking his lessons on board in that moment, so for that, I apologize.

That being said, I will now write the review of last night’s Running Wild episode with this warning to my readers: I don’t care what your political opinion may be. Any comments of a hurtful nature directed at Bear, President Obama, or myself, will not only be deleted, but will be reported to your Internet Service Provider. You will not be able to hide behind an anonymous name, so your best bet is to keep those opinions that have nothing to do with the episode in question to yourself.

Thank You.

Leave a Reply

