Just Remember, Vermont

I make no bones about the fact that I have adopted Salem as my hometown. One day, I may even invent a story about how I was actually born here and that my birth certificate was altered to keep the dark wizards from finding me before I could reach my destiny.

But for the record, I am also proud to call myself a Vermonter. Granted, most of the positive things I have to say about my birthplace  are the symptoms of Stockholm Syndrome more than anything, but it wasn’t all bad. Not as bad as things are for my little sister, anyhow, who can’t even go to the store at the end of the street with her friend because things have gotten so pear-shaped in Bennington, but I digress.

Trump is in Vermont. Yep. Trump is visiting the city I once called home, Burlington. He is holding his rally in the former backyard of Bernie Sanders, but I would be lying if I said that Trump is by far the craziest of the politically minded individuals who have roamed this section of the city.

The point I wish to make is that whatever side of the coin you’re on, remember that Burlington is a city with a well-trained police force. They generally don’t tolerate foolishness on the day of distinguished visitors.

Do I want Trump to be president? No. But I also want him to be safe in the city I love as much as I love Salem. As safe as anyone should expect to be in a city that houses refugees, politicians, actors, artists, and the lot.

If you need any more reassurance that Burlington PD will be in control of things, I direct you to one of my most popular Youtube videos. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

