Sometimes Hindsight Isn’t 20/20

John found my glasses. So this post begins with a huge thanks to him and to Dickens, our dog. It was his eye medication that fell behind the table, leading John to check underneath the table, where the glasses have been sitting since before the end of December.

The day I lost them was an upsetting one. I won’t go into detail, but suffice it to say, I was distracted that day. And backtracking simply wasn’t working. The day was compounded when I couldn’t find my backup pair, which I had got the same day I had my prescription renewed.

However, I knew they would turn up, because they could only be in the house. It’s something I realized when I lost a set of keys in the first apartment I ever rented. I had allowed the stress of working in a shitty job to snowball as I scrambled to find a set of keys, that had been sitting underneath the mattress of my futon all along when I finally stumbled on them months later.

Granted, these were two different scenarios. But lessons from the past taught me to be grounded in the moment and to try and find the solution without letting the stress get to me.

Leave a Reply

