Natural Selection at CVS

Yesterday, I went for a very long walk. I’m not going to tell you where I walked to, but when I stopped at the CVS on Canal Street, near Salem State University, I was parched. So I picked out my favorite Arizona Shaq Soda (which isn’t actually my favorite, but they haven’t carried the other flavors in forever) and as I waited in line, I pulled out the exact amount that would be due.

This cashier was obviously not new going on the worn and torn nature of his name tag. But I guess he could have been a student, since the college is across the street. It’s not a stretch to think that most of the employees at this location are students and if they aren’t, they may want to listen to this.

“Do you have your discount card today, sir?”

“Not right now, thank you.”

There’s a line behind me. The guy hadn’t even scanned the product when he said, “Uh, well, I think it’s on clearance. Do you want to try it out?”

Remember this entry? Well, the point is I hate being hassled. When I say no, it means no. When I say no politely, it means I would love to cuss you out, but I’m not mean or rude, so it would be nice if you return the favor by scanning my purchase so I can be on my way.

I’ve also pointed out that if it’s a clearance price, then I wouldn’t need the card for it anyway, because clearance prices have nothing to do with the sale. The store is just trying to get rid of the product and they don’t care who buys it. They could be having a clearance on cough medicine and you could just buy a whole shopping cart full of it and they wouldn’t even check your ID.

This soda was not one of the items on clearance. I would have rejoiced if that were the case, but it wasn’t.

“Oh, but the cashier is only doing his job,” someone will whine.

To which I reply, yes, his job was to ask if I had my card. His job is also to get me out of there as quickly as possible so he can serve the customers behind me. He failed at this, which is why I’m blogging about it now, which should frankly be of no surprise to anyone.

One thought on “Natural Selection at CVS

  1. Melinda Carroll

    Aah. Petty tyrants. Difficult to remember that they teach patience. I just got off the phone with Comcast. Three agents and over two hours later a simple resolution that took 30 seconds. Yesterday my son was with Comcast for an hour or more connecting a new tv. Again a simple issue of using the correct remote solved.
    Peace out lovey

    Reply

Leave a Reply

