Beavis and Butthead: The Juxtaposition

I consider myself a reasonably cerebral person. So it probably amazes some that when I realized there were recent episodes of Beavis and Butthead, my day couldn’t have gotten better.

It was on MTV2, which we apparently have, in the morning on both Saturday and Sunday. Here’s what’s interesting about this.

“Beavis and Butthead are not role models. They’re not even human, they’re cartoons. Some of the things they do can cause a person to get hurt, expelled, arrested… possibly deported. To put it on other words, don’t try this at home.”

If you grew up in the same decade as me, you heard the voice of the man who narrated that opening crawl before every episode of Beavis and Butthead, when it aired on MTV at night, usually at around 11 PM, depending on where you lived.

They don’t do that crawl now, in the morning on a weekend, when parents have even less control over what their kids are exposed to than the late 80’s/early 90’s.

I could go on about my theories for why this is, but you tuned me out the moment I told you I watch Beavis and Butthead.

Leave a Reply

