Wrong Move, Sir

On my way home this afternoon, a man called my name.

White, fat, bald, tight blue shirt, sunglasses, about my height. I described him this way because this post is intended to be documentation as much as a recounting. The encounter took place about 12:30 PM of this date, outside of the Milk and Honey Grocery store on Church Street, Salem, MA.

He called my name and told me we needed to talk. I told him, “I don’t even know who you are.”

“Yeah you do,” he replied, crossing his arms and speaking in what I assume was meant to be an intimidating tone. “So lets talk.”

Naturally I responded to such aggressive behavior with complete submission and a meek reply of, “How may I help you?”  Not.

I said, “No, I don’t know who you are, and you need to leave me alone.”

“But Nathanielle,” you say. “Surely you were a little rude and probably did something to provoke such an encounter.”

The fact is I have Asperger’s Syndrome and am therefore completely ignorant of all social encounters (sarcasm, people, sarcasm) but if I were this man, the first thing I would have done to rectify the situation would be to clarify who I was and when it was that we officially encountered each other. That would have cleared up the confusion and allowed us to discuss business.

I should say up front that this man was neither Tim, nor Jim. But if this man is connected with the two in anyway, they’re within their rights to distance themselves from him with a quick remark. Maybe he had to do with Dickens being attacked last year, I don’t know. But what I do know is that the people who witnessed this encounter were more concerned with his behavior than with my own.

So as I said, this post is as much about documenting the incident as it is about telling you all what happened.

2 thoughts on “Wrong Move, Sir

Leave a Reply

